I am getting more and more excited to have this baby and see her face to face. It's only three months away!! I think I'm pretty much mentally prepared (I know, I know, you laugh at this) but I know that only goes so far, so maybe I should say I'm as mentally prepared as I'll ever be. But I am totally unprepared by way of supplies and such. I have a few things my sister has given me, but other than that I have nothing ready. There's a lot that I still need to get from my sister - a lot of the big stuff anyway - and then I just need to make a list of the little supplies I need and go shopping. Part of why I haven't gotten anything yet is that the baby's room still isn't ready. We need to be paint, clean, and take up the carpet. I was at Target the other day and thoug
And we still haven't decided on a name. Hopefully we're getting closer. I say hopefully because we've already had it narrowed down to two or three twice before and now we are on our third set of two or three finalists. It's so hard to name someone!!
On the upside, my back problem has gotten a lot better. This last chiropractor that I went to told me he thought it was ligament and/or muscle related and not a bone problem whereas the first chiropractor had told me it was a twisted sacrum. I had found almost nothing on the internet about twisted sacrum, but I went home and looked up "sacroiliac joint pregnancy" after talking to this guy and found a ton of information. Supposedly it's pretty common to have this problem during pregnancy (although not usually so early in pregnancy). In a nutshell, the hormones in pregnancy cause your ligaments to loosen and sometimes the ligament around your sacroiliac joint gets too loose and causes problems. It's only supposed to move just a tiny bit and if it moves too much, it can be very painful. I read that a support belt worn around the pelvis would help keep it from moving too much and provide some relief. So I stopped going to the chiropractor (I only went twice and I didn't want him to make it worse) and wore one for about a week and a half and have been otherwise very careful with how I move and how I sit. I also changed chairs at work and my mom bought me a special pillow to sit on and it has just been getting better and better. I still have pain sometimes, but nothing even close to what it was before. THANK GOD!!
On the downside, I have been super clumsy lately. I went to lunch with a friend a few weeks ago and just before getting out of my car, I picked up my water and dropped it all over my lap. I sat through lunch soaked, but was almost dry by the time we were finished. Which is when I picked up my Dr. Pepper to refill it and dropped it all down the front of me. Very embarrassing. And this isn't an isolated occurrence either... this is what my life has become. That and getting tired really easily. In general, though, I'm feeling a lot better now than I was up until a few weeks ago. I stopped eating oranges and a few weeks later I stopped drinking milk and I feel a thousand times better now. It seems both of those gave me horrible stomach aches/problems.
We start our childbirth classes on Tuesday. I'm looking forward to it, although it's in Denton and I'm not really looking forward to that drive right at rush hour. I still wonder if I made the right decision about not having an epidural... I hope I don't live to regret it.
No comments:
Post a Comment