Yesterday we went to the stock show. It was fun although it tired me out pretty quick and I got a migraine half way through it. There is something just not right about walkin
g through and among a bunch of cows and pigs eating a big old corn dog. Not just that it's meat... but that it's all the leftover meat too. And seeing the whole animal it's a lot easier to imagine just where those parts are coming from... I tried not to think about it, but it was still just a bit disturbing. The other thing that was pretty disturbing was how expensive everything is!! $6 for a funnel cake that didn't even fill the plate!! I didn't get it, nor did I get the $3 refill on the $5 coke that they told me was refillable... the only reason I bought it!! But overall, it was really fun and John really enjoyed it too, especially the hereford show.After we got home, I laid down because of my headache and I was having a whole bunch of really strong contractions... I was hoping I was going into labor, but alas, here I sit - still pregnant. The nap I took helped a lot with my headache - it was one of the shortest migraines I've ever had - but I think it kept me up last night. I was cleaning the house at 9 and though I tried to go to bed at 11 (way past when I usually go to sleep) I just could not sit still - I was wired. I laid there fidgeting and twitching for about an hour and finally had to get up and go to the gym to walk. I walked for about 40 minutes and stopped because my back finally started to hurt too much. I still felt wired on the way home, but at least I was able to sleep after that. People have told me you get a burst of energy before you go into labor, but I don't think that was what it was. I think it was the nap I took and beyond that, just coincidence. I'm not having contractions today (sigh).
My question of the day is this: what do you say when someone tells you that you are all baby? I mean, is that a compliment? Do you say thank you? Presumably, they are telling you this as a way of telling you, "you got a big ol' belly, but you don't look fat or anything..." which is probably supposed to be a compliment, but it feels a bit weird saying thank you to that. And if it's not meant as a compliment, what is the appropriate response? It always feels like it requires a response, but I have never have any idea what to say...
No comments:
Post a Comment