Thursday, October 28, 2010

A Taste of the Future...

Yesterday I had a taste of how horrible it can be with two babies... wow. Ethan is a happy baby and a pleasure to watch. He has been here before and it has always gone just perfectly - no tears, simultaneous naps, two happy babies, etc. etc. And truly, it wasn't so bad yesterday because Maria was expected to pick Ethan up only about 30 min after it got *really* bad, but I was still almost in tears. I was completely paralyzed because I could only hold the two crying babies and no limbs left to fix anything. I had a 22lb baby on each hip and couldn't even sit down with them... I tried a few times and had to get back up with them both still in my arms - I'm still sore. It would have been different if Maria had not been on her way, because I'd have had to put one down and just take care of highest priority first. But Ethan just needed his mommy - which I obviously couldn't fix - and Ellen needed a bottle and a nap, which would have taken too long to leave him with Maria on her way so we all three just rode it out. And DS was kicking the entire time, just to tell me that in three months this is gonna be my life. Roll Eyes

But anyway, yesterday Ellen's atime was 415 instead of 330 because of all that and she took a 2hr and 20 min nap - which she woke up from at 1.5 hrs b/c her mosquito bites were itching (I watched her wake up) and then when I picked her up, thinking her nap was over, I found her diaper had leaked BAD. I must have put her diaper on wrong, because it wasn't even wet - only her clothes and sheets. So I changed her [i]as[/i] she fell back to sleep, and then had to hold her for the next hour b/c I couldn't put her back in her wet crib Undecided Mostly I enjoy the times when I can hold her while she's sleeping, but I do like to be prepared with a comfy place to sit, possibly a book, and whatever else I might need readily available...

But anyway, today she had almost her 3 1/2 hr atime and only took a 50 min nap, so I guess it's time to up it again. I'm wondering if the 4:15 was closer to what it's supposed to be now but I'm not gonna make that much of a jump that fast, even if it is what she ultimately needs. I'm going to probably go up to 3:45 tomorrow and see what happens. I did love the 2:20 nap. Or would have if I hadn't had to unexpectedly hold her for half of it Roll Eyes

Yesterday was not a very pleasant day. A day like that ends in a trip to the grocery store for ice cream and candy bars. I just ate some ice cream and I think I might go have another bite even though I keep telling myself I really need to start watching my sugar intake.

No comments:

Post a Comment